Little Boat, Big River

When I’m finished with the Intracoastal Waterway, I just might wander down the Mississippi. By happy coincidence, today’s online edition of the New York Times published an account of a father and son kayak trip down a portion of the Mississippi River, starting just below St. Louis. They traveled for about 150 miles and camped most nights along the banks of the river. The online story includes a slide show and links to various parks and maps.

3 Responses to Little Boat, Big River

  1. oldsalt1942 says:

    I did the great loop in two segments in ’74 and ’75. Fortunately I got paid every inch of the way, too. I don’t think I’d want to try it in your boat, though. It’s a LONG trip.

    In a small boat like your there are plenty of places you can sail along the east coast besides the Chesapeake. Below Norfolk there’s Core Sound, Albemarle Sound, and Pamlico Sound all in North Carolina. Also, in my many trips on the entire Atlantic ICW there are plenty of places to set sail when the wind’s right. I often saw sailboats with roller furling fore sails that would pull them out when the wind and course was favorable.

    There are also places where a small boat, even with an engine would need to stop and hole up waiting for the tidal currents to work in their favor. One place in particular is the cut south of Wrightsville Beach, NC and the Cape Fear River. The last time I went through there against the tide I was in an old classic motor yacht that cruised at 10 mph and it seemed to take forever to get through.

    Keep plugging away. There’s plenty of good cruising ahead for you.

    • Paul Boyer says:

      Sound advice and I’m sure nearby waters will keep me happy for a while. I greatly appreciate your recommendations regarding Core Sound and other good sailing destinations.

  2. liz says:

    hi stranger! i was looking for you and hilary on facebook and came across your blog! how are you guys doing?? we’re are still in c’town . . . both kids are in college, and trevor *graduates* in june!!

Leave a Reply

